For the Wolf by Hannah Whitten _ Book Review

Amazon | Goodreads

The first daughter is for the Throne.
The second daughter is for the Wolf.


For fans of Uprooted and The Bear and the Nightingale comes a dark fantasy novel about a young woman who must be sacrificed to the legendary Wolf of the Wood to save her kingdom. But not all legends are true, and the Wolf isn’t the only danger lurking in the Wilderwood.

As the only Second Daughter born in centuries, Red has one purpose-to be sacrificed to the Wolf in the Wood in the hope he’ll return the world’s captured gods.

Red is almost relieved to go. Plagued by a dangerous power she can’t control, at least she knows that in the Wilderwood, she can’t hurt those she loves. Again.

But the legends lie. The Wolf is a man, not a monster. Her magic is a calling, not a curse. And if she doesn’t learn how to use it, the monsters the gods have become will swallow the Wilderwood-and her world-whole.

[I received a digital arc from Netgalley for an honest review]

For the Wolf
 is the start of a new YA fantasy series by Hannah F. Whitten. While the cover & title made me think this was a little red riding hood retelling, I would definitely categorize it as a Beauty and the Beast retelling. Every time something happened that reminded me of the original fairy tale, it excited me, and those moments were aplenty.

“A forest in your bones, a graveyard beneath your feet. There are no heroes here.”

This is the story of royal second daughter Redarys who since birth has been destined to be bound to the Wolf in the Wilderwoods. A sacrifice in order to protect the kingdom from the monsters inside the woods and hopefully return the sacred five Kings. However, once Red enters the forest, she learns the stories aren’t quite what she’s been taught to believe. The Wolf is not quite so horrible and much more than meets the eye. With her life tied to the Wolf and the woods, will she sacrifice everything for those she loves.

“Red belonged here. The magic that made her taste dirt and turned her veins green made it clear.”

I’ll be honest for me the first 10% was felt a bit long but I always feel that way with fantasies because of you know the whole setting up the story that has to be done 😂 but once our heroine enters the woods, I was sold. I loved the wolf Eammon immediately and Red is such a strong personality who you can’t help but like. I loved the ” Beauty and Beast” relationship between them and from the beginning hoped they would find a way to persevere.

“I’m trying to protect you,” he murmured. “Red, I’d let the world burn before I hurt you.”

The last 25% had me captivated and glued to the pages. It was the fulfilling and exciting climax and conclusion that I was hoping for. It ends opened ended to continue the series but with a “peaceful” for now ending that will leave you as satisfied. Overall, For the Wolf is a wonderful fantasy retelling of Beauty and the Beast that will be sure to enthrall you.

—Written by Amanda—

2 thoughts on “For the Wolf by Hannah Whitten _ Book Review

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s