You Can Run by Rebecca Zanetti _ Book Review

Amazon | Goodreads

Fans of Lauran Griffin and Lisa Jackson won’t want to miss this brand new thriller series by New York Times bestselling author Rebecca Zanetti, as FBI Special Agent Laurel Snow, a rising star profiler, strives to stay one step ahead of the criminal mind—and discovers that her own demons may be the hardest to outrun…

Laurel Snow wouldn’t call hunting a serial killer a vacation, but with a pile of dead bodies unearthed near her Genesis Valley, WA, hometown, she’ll take what she can get. Yet something about this case stirs her in unexpected ways. Like the startling connection she feels to Dr. Abigail Caine, a fiercely intelligent witness with a disturbing knack for making Laurel feel like she has something on her. Then there’s Laurel’s attraction to Huck Rivers, the fish and wildlife officer guiding her to the crime scene—and into the wilderness…

A former soldier and a trained sniper, Huck’s thirst for blood is rivaled only by his fierce pursuit of Laurel. He’s been burned by love, wounded by the government, and betrayed before, and to say he has trust issues is the ultimate understatement. Plus, he might be closer to this killer than anybody knows…

Once in the heart of darkness with Huck, Laurel must negotiate her distracting desire for him, her complex rapport with Abigail—and her mission to find a serial killer among a growing list of suspects and a danger that’s far too close to home. So close in fact, Laurel fears she will never find her way back to the woman she once was…

[I received a digital arc for an honest review]

You Can Run
 is the start of a new thriller mystery series by Rebecca Zanetti. The book had my attention from start to finish and I can’t wait for future books in the series.

This follows FBI Special Agent Laurel Snow, who returns to her hometown when multiple bodies are discovered and her uncle is questioned. Working alongside the reclusive Fish and Wildlife Officer Huck River, bodies continue to be uncovered and new victims taken. While trying to hunt a killer, she becomes the one being hunted.

“Laurel had dealt with a few of the darkest criminal minds there were. One cranky mountain man couldn’t deter her.”

The case and plot itself was interesting and kept you guess throughout. Alongside both Laurel and Huck’s point of view (thank you the dual POV gods) we also are given the point of views of a few of the victims and of the killer themselves towards the end of the book. The book also does a great job at casting suspicion on enough people to keep you guys at whom the killer may or may not be the entire time.

“The man reminded her of the storm outside, wild and free, natural and beautiful. Unfathomable and dangerous.”

Laurel is a strong lead character, she is ridiculously intelligent , beautiful, and not the greatest at social cues so not the best with people. Huck is gruff, grunting , alpha goodness with his hero complex and search dog. Their relationship is a slow burn, with both of them rusty in people interactions. It leads up to one great encounter and is then put on the back burner,, but I am really looking forward to reading about them trying to ignore their chemistry in future books.

Two: death, violence, discussion of sexual assault 

—Written by Amanda—

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s